Midland Counties Photographic Federation

MidPhot Audio Visual Championships

AV Championship organiser  Howard Bagshaw
email: avchamp@mcpf.co.uk

  • 2019 Entry Form
  • Rules and Conditions
  • Tickets

2019 MidPhot AV Championship

held on
Saturday 26th January 2019 

Judges Chairman:
Keith Watson LRPS CPAGB-av

Open AV Championship

Beyond the Wall by Alastair Taylor – Staffs AV Group
Runner Up
Chakra Sutra by Andrew Gagg – Worcester AV Group

Martin Fry’s Award
Soldiers of the Great War by Peter Warner – Beacon CC
David Gibbins’s Award
It Stood by John Holt – Smethwick PS
Keith Watson’s Award
It All Adds Up by Richard Brown – Sutton Coldfield PC
Day by Day by Alan Tyrer – Worcester AV Group
A Mother’s Son by Alastair Taylor – Staffs AV Group

Photo Harmony

Finding Narnia by Martin Addison – Worcester CC
Runner Up
Heading for Winter by Mike Edwards – Smethwick PS
Martin Fry’s Award

Val d’Orcia by Barry Glover – Worcester AV Group
David Gibbins’s Award
Circles by Peter Warner – Beacon CC
Keith Watson’s Award
Glass Works by Martin Addison – Worcester CC

In the Freezer by Gordon Nicklin – Worcester AV Group
Fleeting Hour by Alan Tyrer – Worcester AV Group
Martin Fry Audience Vote
It All Adds Up by Richard Brown – Sutton Coldfield PC


Audio Visual Competitions Open AV and PhotoHarmony

AVs entered in the OpenAV competition will be judged using internationally accepted criteria, where the quality and appropriateness of the images and the sound track, how those two interrelate and of the concept/production, will all contribute to the overall judgment.

AVs entered in the PhotoHarmony competition will only be judged on the quality of the images, the harmonious way they transition from one to the next and how those transitions relate to the sound track used.  Any other features of the AV, such as a story line, narration, graphics or text, will not add any credit to the entry, though they will not penalise it.

The winner of the OpenAV competition will be awarded the ‘Tom Prince Trophy‘; the winner of the PhotoHarmony competition will be awarded the ‘Howard & Carole Bagshaw Trophy‘. In each competition the judges will also award MCPF medals to the first and runner-up AVs. Each of the three judges will also award a ‘highly commended’ MCPF ribbon for their choice in each competition.  Commendations may also be given at the discretion of the judges.  The ‘Martin Fry Trophy’ will be awarded to the AV, across both competitions, which the audience present at the Championships, judge to be their favourite.